In 1992, Vice Principal Bo Wernersbach and Wrestling Coach Gary Mims set about to create a Massapequa High School Hall of Fame. Joe Burke and Mike Hanna and Principal Jim Maloney joined to organize the new venture. Initially conceptualized as an Athletic Hall of Fame, they inducted Gary, Brain and Richard Baldinger as their first honorees in 1993. In 1994, they expanded the concept and added a Community and Staff Honoree at the first 9 Hole Golf Outing held atPeninsulaGolf Course in Massapequa.

By 1996 an Ad Hoc Hall Committee included among others Connie Ricci, Herb Pluschau Wilma Diehl, Shirley Lenker, Arnie Herman and Kevin McCann. The 1st Golf Outing / Induction Dinner was held in 1996 at Cedar Creek Golf Course inBabylon. The pioneer group recognized, included all fields of endeavor. Inductees included Alec Baldwin, Al Bevilacqua, Barbara Ellen Black, Mary Kay McCormick, Caroline Nicholson, Robert Nilsson, and Thomas O’Malley.

The ad hoc committee approach gave way to a more formal Non-Profit Corporation arrangement. Officers were elected and Tax Exempt Status was sought in 2000. With the help of Hall of Fame member / Attorney Tom Mason, Directors reorganized all aspect of its financial operations. Bylaws were written and approved in 2002 and the selection ballot was increased  to fifteen candidates.

Herb Pluschau served as the first elected President in 2001 followed by Woody Kennedy 2002 and Mike Hanna in 2003. Currently, more than 30 MHS and District Staff members, alumni and community residents serve on the Board of Directors.
The number of Inductees and Scholarship grants were increased each year. The Golf Outing was moved to the Town of Oyster Bay Golf course in Woodbury and the level of participation increased to current levels. Each Year, the Hall inducts 8 alumni and 2 or 3 Community / Staff Honorees. Some 125 golfers and 125 diner only guests fill the hall for the Inductions most years…

Recent Posts