January 9, 2012 Hall Inductees

Hall of Fame Elects 2012 Inductees

Massapequa, NY: (January 9, 2012, for immediate release)

Hall of Fame Inc. President Mike Hanna announced today that 33 Directors (voting at the Hall’s January 3, 2012 Organizational meeting) elected eight (8) alumni candidates from Berner and Massapequa High School. Three (3) Community /Staff honorees were also named.

The Directors approved the first Monday in August date for the annual Golf Outing / Induction Dinner at the Town of Oyster Bay Golf Course in Woodbury, NY

The following inductees will be honored on Monday August 6, 2012


Gerard Giannttasio, BHS 1964… Attorney, Judge of the Village of Massapequa Park, NY Village Court, Visiting Professor of History at Hofstra University and SUNY Farmingdale.

George Seage, BHS 1975... Professor of Epidemiology, Harvard University, National Institute of Health (AIDS & Cancer Research), Boston Univ. School of Health Alumni of the year 2007.

Donald Harris, MHS 1978…Long Island Boat Captain, Environmental Educator, Vice President of Operation “Splash” (Stop Polluting, Littering and Save Harbors) Nassau County Legislature Citation, 2010 Civic Leadership Award

Suzanne Borda, BHS 1986… Radio Broadcaster, TV Host, Writer (TV Name , Suzanne Alexander) LI WMJC Music Director, Host and writer of “GAC Nights” Active in community affairs, Big Brothers / Big Sisters, St Jude’s, Leukemia / Lymphoma Society.

Sandra Woodward Pullman, MHS 1956 … Teacher / Chairperson of English, (Friends Academy & Massapequa Public Schools), L I Realtor, Fashion Model, TV Actress, Bridgehampton Library Expansion Committee Leader.

Wayne Barlowe, MHS 1976 … Artist, Writer, Science Fiction Painter.  Painted over 300 book and magazine covers and illustrations for major book publishers, as well as Life Magazine, Time and Newsweek. Creature character design for Galaxy Quest, Titan and Harry Potter among others. Best Book for teenagers, NYC Public Library.

Louis Bartolotta, MHS 1966 … Executive Vice President of Sales (Former V.P. Business Development), Agusta Westland NA (the #1 Helicopter manufacturer in the world). US Army Combat Helicopter Pilot (Bronze Star, Vietnam 1971, Helicopter Captain in Middle East and offshore oil operation in the North Sea.

Corey Langer, MHS 1975 … Physician, Director of Thoracic Oncology, Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania, As a Medical Oncologist he is internationally known in the field of lung cancer and head and neck cancers, Author of peer-review articles published in professional journals. (E.g.: New England Journal of Medicine)

Community / Staff Honors

Kristen Blum-Bednar, … (Posthumous Award)…Birch Lane Elementary School suffered a tragic loss last year in the untimely death of Physical Education teacher Kristen Blum-Bednar. An avid surfer volunteer with  iMatter Surf Camp for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders. She also served at Madonna Heights, a multi-service organization that reaches out to troubled adolescent girls. She has been sorely missed by her students.

Angelo Dellagatti, … Private practice Attorney, Nassau County District Court Judge, former Town of Oyster Bay Supervisor and Councilman. He also served as an Assistant District Attorney during his 55 year residence in Massapequa. A member of Knights of Columbus, and a coach with the Coast League, St Rose CYO and the Massapequa Soccer Club.

Gary Slavin … MetLife Agent in Massapequa, providing financial services to area families for more than a decade. A lifelong resident of Nassau Shores he has provided exemplary community service with the Massapequa Coast League, St Martin’s RC Amityville, Joint Council of Civic Associations, Chamber of Commerce and many other community groups.

Other News…

Hall Directors Elect Officers for 2012 @ Tuesday January 3, 2012 Meeting

Directors of the Hall of Fame Inc. provided unanimous approval of a resolution appointing the Mike Hanna as President for 2012. Mr. Hanna has served in this capacity since 2002. Linda Hoffman, Vice President, Linda Hanna, Secretary, Robert Storti, and Barry Giaquinto, Financial Secretary were also reelected for 2012.

2012 Budget approved

This year’s budget contains provisions to sponsor twelve (12) $2000 scholarships and award $5,000 in grants was approved for 2012

2012 Committees

Committee membership and Chairperson Appointments remain unchanged, except that a new committee to search for Alumni Candidates for the Hall of Fame was formed. Mike Hanna will chair a veteran group consisting of Directors Wilma Diehl, Shirley Lenker, Pauline Koller Susan Woodbury and Herb Pluschau. The group will convene in January to establish a work schedule that will seek to increase the flow of candidates specifically from 1980’s & 90’s graduating classes.

Directors Retire.

A resolution of appreciation was adopted to mark the retirement of Directors Alan Maher, Angela Maher and Marty Voigt from active service. The Mahers will continue to serve on the Retired Directors Selection Panel.

Thank You Alan & Angela!

Director Joe Burke will return from the panel and re-assume as an active Director.

Recent Posts